Hat Trick Ball Hockey League
Men's Orleans - Tuesday

The season came down to one last night as we had both our A semis along with our A and B finals all on the same day.  Our semifinals saw both the favourites come away winners to set up the final with the #1 vs #2 seeds.  Congratulations to the Simonhaters (A) and Redline (B) who became our Winter 2016 Men’s Tuesday Orleans Champs.  Simonhaters completed a perfect season showing their dominance all season long.  Thanks to everyone for their part in making this past season a great success and if we don’t see you playing this summer we hope to see you all back next fall for another entertaining season of HTBHL.

To see the winning team pic before it is uploaded to the website please visit us at www.facebook.com/htbhl and don’t forget to LIKE US!

SUMMER LEAGUES – LAST CALL for our spring/summer leagues.  We have both gym and arena leagues for both men as well as coed.  If you would like more information or want to sign up a team, a group or as an individual please contact jonathan@htbhl.com or dan@htbhl.com

Now on to the action:

A - Loose Cannons (4) vs. Cyclones (2)

We start the night with our first semifinal in the A division which showcased the Loose Cannons and Cyclones. This should be an entertaining game. LC would open the scoring 4 minutes into the game when Sebastien Mercier (1G) would cut off a pass at center and score on a low shot stick side. CYC would come right back when Chris Matthews (4G/1A) would go shelf on the backhand. As we entered the midpoint of the period, LC were leading 3-1. We would not see to many play stoppages in the second half of the period as both teams played a solid defensive system. After 20 minutes of play, the score was still 3-1 in favor of LC. Knowing that this game was a do or die scenario, CYC would come out strong in the second half and it would pay off as they would get within 1 goal when Matthews would bury his 2nd of the night.  That goal seemed to have spark the offense on both teams as 5 more goals would be scored in a span of 3 minutes and just like that we were all tied. With 4:56 remaining on the clock, CYC would jump ahead for the first time of the game. With one minute left in the game and fighting for their lives, LC would find themselves down a man. In the end, CYC would hold on to secure a date in the final with a 6-5 win.

CYC – Luc Bouchard – 26 shots

LC – Darren Hayes – 30 shots


A - Balls Deep (6) vs. Simonhaters (1)

In our second A division semifinal, BD who were coming in as the underdogs would have quite a challenge in front of them since they were entering this game with only 1 spare. SH would jump ahead 4 minutes in when Rob Pellerin (3G) goes 5hole in close. 3 minutes later, Pellerin would be at it again this time roofing a point shot. The first would end with SH leading 3-0. In the second period, they would pick up from where they left off. Jon Code (2G/1A) with his 2nd and Pellerin with his hat trick goal would increase SH’s lead to 5-0. Nick Lamb would come up with a couple big saves to preserve his shutout with 10 minutes left in the game. At 8:37, Jon Bowes (1G) with a blast 5hole would finally break the goose egg. With the score now 6-1SH, Jason Scott (1G) would score one more for BD who gave it their all but in the end SH proved to be too powerful. SH advances to the final against CYC with the 6-2 victory.

SH – Nick Lamb – 23 shots

BD – Marc Mauviel – 39 shots


Redline vs. The Angry Beavers (B FINAL)

On to the B division final where Redline and The Angry Beavers faced one another for bragging rights. RL would get things started when Robbie Roberts (1G/A) would score on a long shot from behind his own net. The duo of Jeff Armstrong (1G/1A) and Amit Nanda (2G/1A) would connect 4 minutes later to increase RL’s lead. As the period was coming to an end with RL up 3-0, Corey Dubien (1G) would finally get TAB on the board. As the buzzer sounded, RL would retrieve to its bench ahead 3-1. In the 2nd period both teams would have some good scoring chances but the keepers were alert for this one. RL Sam Davis (1G) would finally find the back of the net 9 minutes into the second period to increase his team’s lead to 3 goals. TAB were starting to run out of time as they trailed by 4 goals with only 4 minutes left in the game. RL would hold on to take the championship by a score of 6-1.

RL – Tyler Kelleher – 22 shots

TAB – Jeff Moreau – 19 shots


Cyclones vs. Simonhaters (A FINAL)

The final game of the night would determine who would reign supreme atop the A division. SH Jon Code (1G/5A) would get things started early when he snaps one home low stick. As the period went on, SH slowly started to impose the pace of the game. After falling behind 4-0, CYC would finally get on the board when Chris Mathews (1G/1A) would put home a rebound and then one minute later, Logan Jackson (1G) bats one out of mid-air. As things started to look more promising for CYC, the duo of James Brown (7G) and Code would connect twice. After 20 minutes of play, SH were in front 7-2. Both teams would trade goals to start the 2nd period. Justin Charron (1G/2A) would then bury a rebound 5hole 6 minutes in to cut the lead in half. As we entered the final 10 minutes of the game, CYC were slowing coming alive and thanks to 2 quick goals from Nik Lust (2G) they were now only trailing by 2 goals. As we entered the final 2 minutes of play, SH rebuilt a solid lead and were now in full control of their destiny. SH finished like they had done all year winning the championship game by a score of 11-6 to finish the season perfect.

SH – Nick Lamb – 31 shots

CYC – Luc Bouchard – 27 shots